Course Outline -


‍Important Dates -

‍Evaluation Type

‍Day 1

Date

Day 2

Date

‍Topics

Assignment
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Wednesday, September 10, 2014
Grade 10 Review - Part 2
Quiz
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
Wednesday, September 24, 2014
Domain, Range, Function vs. Not a Function, Linear vs. Quadratic, Function Notation
Assignment
Thursday, September 25, 2014
Friday, September 26, 2014
Linear vs Quadratic Functions (Graphing Calculator)
Assignment
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Wednesday, October 8, 2014
Quadratic (Vertex Form) Word Problems
Test
Thursday, October 9, 2014
Friday, October 10, 2014
Domain, Range, Fucntion vs. Not a Function, Linear vs. Quadratic, Function Notation, Transformations of Quadratic Functions, Word Problems
Quiz
Wednesday, October 29, 2014
Tuesday, October 28, 2014
Expanding and Simplifying Expressions, Common Factoring, Factoring Difference of Squares, Factoring Trinomials, Solving Quadratic Equations by Factoring
Assignment
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Word Problems Assignment
Test
Tuesday, November 11, 2014
Wednesday, November 12, 2014
Expanding and Simplifying Expressions, Common Factoring, Factoring Difference of Squares, Factoring Trinomials, Solving Quadratic Equations by Factoring and Quadratic Formula, Discriminant, Word Problems
Assignment
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Friday, November 28, 2014
Maximum/Minimum Word Problems
Test
Monday, December 1, 2014
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
Completing the Square, Word Problems
EXAM


DATE: Friday, December 12, 2014
LOCATION: Room 208
TIME: 2 pm

Quiz
Tuesday, January 13, 2015
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
Exponent Laws, Integer Exponents
Assignment
Thursday, January 15, 2015
Friday, January 16, 2015
Exponent Laws, Integer Exponents
Assignment
Tuesday, February 3, 2015
Monday, February 2, 2015
Transformations of Exponential Functions
Test
Thursday, February 5, 2015
Wednesday, February 4, 2015
Exponent Laws, Zero, Negative, Fractional Exponents, Transformations of Exponential Functions, Radical Form to Exponent Form (and vice versa), Exponential Growth, Exponential Decay
Assignment
Friday, February 27, 2015
Thursday, February 26, 2015
Simple and Compound Interest
Quiz
Friday, February 23, 2015
Thursday, February 20, 2015
Simple and Compound Interest
Quiz
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Tuesday, March 10, 2015
Annuities - Finding Present Value and Regular Payment
Assignment
Tuesday, March 31, 2015
Monday, March 30, 2015
Present Value and Future Value
Test
Wednesday, April 1, 2105
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Simple Interest, Compound Interest, Present Value (Annuities) and Future Value (Annuities)
Quiz
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Thursday, April 16, 2015
Trigonometric Ratios, Area of a Triangle
Quiz
Friday, May 1, 2015
Tuesday, April 28, 2015
Sine Law and Cosine Law
Assignment
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
Sine and Cosine Laws
Test
Monday, May 11, 2015
Friday, May 8, 2015
Trigonometric Ratios, Area of a Triangle, Sine and Cosine Laws
Assignment
Wednesday, June 3, 2015
Monday, June 8, 2015
Graphing the Sine Function
EXAM


DATE: WEDNESDAY, JUNE 17, 2015
LOCATION:GYM
TIME:12:30 pm

Unit 0 - Grade 10 Review


Lesson
Topic
01
Grade 10 Review - Part 1
02
Grade 10 Review - Part 2

Unit 1 - Introduction to Quadratic Functions

‍Lesson

‍Topic

01
Characteristics of a Function
02
Characteristics of a Function
03
Linear vs. Quadratic Functions
04
Linear vs. Quadratic Functions Activity
05
Working with Function Notation
06
Transformations of Quadratic Functions
07
Transformations of Quadratic Functions
08
Quadratic Functions - Word Problems
09
Review
10
Test

Unit 2 - Factored Form of the Quadratic Function

‍Lesson

‍Topic

Homework

01
Working with Quadratic Expressions
textbook: page 86 # 5, 7, 10 ,11
02
Common Factoring, Factoring Difference of Squares
textbook: page 93 # 5, 6, 15 and page 115 # 2ace, 3ace, 4bde, 11ac
03
Factoring Trinomials
worksheet
04
Factoring Trinomials
worksheet
05
Solve Quadratic Equations by Factoring
textbook: page 162 # 4, 5, 6 omit d, 7 omit b
06
Relating Standard Form and Factored Form of Quadratic Functions
textbook: page 140 # 4, 5, 6
07
Quadratic Formula, Discriminant
textbook: page 222 # 1, 3 and page 232 #2, 4
08
Quadratic Functions - Word Problems
textbook: page 168 # 2, 6, 9 - 11 and page 223 # 6a, 7 - 9
09
Quadratic Functions - Word Problems
worksheet
10
Assignment

11
Review
worksheet
12
Test

Unit 3 - Vertex Form of the Quadratic Function

‍Lesson

‍Topic

Homework

01
Completing the Square
textbook: page 214 # 6, 7
02
Maximum and Minimum Word Problems
textbook: page 215 # 10, 11 and page 239 #1, 2, 5, 8, 12a
03
Maximum and Minimum Word Problems
worksheet
04
Assignment

05
Review
textbook: page 226 # 5 - 7, page 254 # 3, 9, 10ab, page 256 #7, 8
06
Test

Unit 4 - Exponential Functions

‍Lesson

‍Topic

Homework

01
Exponent Laws
textbook page 399 # 1 - 3, 5 - 9
02
Exponent Laws
worksheet
03
Exponent Laws - Integer Exponents
page 408 # 5 - 9, 11
04
Exponent Laws Assignment

05
Exponent Laws - Rational Exponents
page 415 # 1 - 3, 6, 7, 10 - 12, 14, 15
06
Comparing Quadratic and Exponential Functions
worksheet
07
Exponential Growth/Decay

08
Transformations of Exponential Functions
worksheet
09
Transformations of Exponential Functions
worksheet
10
Exploring Properties of Exponential Functions

11
Transformations of Exponential Functions Assignment

12
Review

13
Test

Unit 4 - Financial Applications

‍Lesson

‍Topic

01
Simple Interest
02
Simple Interest vs Compound Interest
03
Compound Interest
04
Compound Interest - Present Value
05
Assignment
06
Compound Interest - Find i and n
07
Annuities - Present Value
08
Annuities - Regular Payment
09
Regular Loan Payments
10
Future Value
11
Future Value - Regular Deposit
12
Applications - Mortgages and Credit Cards
13
Assignment
14
Applications
15
Review
16
Test

Unit 4 - Trigonometry

‍Lesson

‍Topic

01
Trigonometric Ratios
02
Trigonometric Ratios - Word Problems
03
Solving Problems with Right Triangles
04
Sine Law - Finding Sides
05
Sine Law - Finding Angles
06
Cosine Law - Finding Sides
07
Cosine Law - Finding Angles
08
Sine and Cosine Law
09
Word Problems
10
Assignment
11
Review
12
Test

Unit 4 - Sine Function

‍Lesson

‍Topic

01
Investigation: Periodic Behaviour
02
Periodic Functions
03
Investigation: The Graph of y=sinx
04
Transformations of y=sinx
05
Graphing y=sin(x-c)+d
06
Graphing y=asin(kx)
07
Graphing y=asin(k(x-c))+d
08
Assignment